The Cispus Mountain site was used from 1915 to 1926 with only a firefinder stand as a structure on the peak. Built in 1926, this R-5 or 4A variation 14' x 14' wooden cab with hip roof had projecting eaves all around with the door in the center of one of the walls. The wooden storm shutters opened down from the bottoms of the windows and rested against the ground. Each window sash had two panes rather than four smaller ones as was typical of the later lookout cabins. In The Willamette NF, these lookouts were called "Supervisor Hall Specials". A few of these still stand in California, but there also were a few of these built outside California, not just in the Willamette NF. One still exists on Calamity Butte (US73 on the NHLR) in the Malheur NF. The archaeological report states that the lookout was dismantled and some of the lumber was used to build a small cabin north of Cispus Peak on the lookout trail. This small cabin was not used as a lookout. Some of the lumber left on the site was burned. In 1982, the window frames, cabinets, hip roof sections and additional lumber from the lookout building were found below the peak, north of the original LO site adjacent to a trail.